The History of Epping Timber

scan-4

Founded in the 1965, Epping Timber Joinery and Hardware Co. Pty Ltd is a family owned business that began working from a garage in Hurtle Street, Lalor, manufacturing cabinetry and joinery items for the building industry.

In the late 1950’s due to increased demand, Antonio Chincarini needed more room and moved to Mr Child’s old milking shed in Childs Road, Lalor.

By the early 1960’s the business expanded by retailing building materials and subsequently experienced a rapid rate of growth that culminated in the establishment of the Cooper St site in 1965.

The trading name Epping Timber Joinery and Hardware Co. Pty Ltd was registered and the enduring business partnership of Antonio and Caterina Chincarini born.

Further expansions of manufacturing and trade timber, hardware and building supplies necessitated major extensions in 1968, 1972,1977, 1988.

Scan-2With the untimely death of founding director Antonio, a new era began with the second generation of the Chincarini family taking on their respective roles in conjunction with Caterina.

This saw the re-evaluation of various aspects of the business, leading to the selling of the cabinetry business to employees and continued development and growth of the building supply business.

This business re-vitalisation culminated in the late 90s with acquisition of “The Truss Plant”, which expanded the market for Epping Timber into the prefabricated building products.

In 2005, expansions in this burgeoning industry necessitated the relocation of the prefabricated truss manufacturing sector of the business to Beaufort, 40 km nw of Ballarat, onto a purpose built 8 acre site.

Epping Timber Prefab Co. Pty Ltd was established.  Epping Timber continues to honour its reputation in the building industry as a multi-faceted business, constantly addressing the ever- changing building trade.

The family remains committed the strong legacy of the founding generation in the supply of quality and service to the building industry.